GTL recognizes honorees for 2019 Man and Woman of the Year, Founders, and GTL Alumni Awards

Tucson, AZ (November 4, 2019) — Greater Tucson Leadership is proud to announce the honorees for the 2019 Man and Woman of the Year, Founders Award, and GTL Alumni Excellence Award. This year marks the 67th anniversary of the awards program. The honorees will be celebrated at a gala on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2020 at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort.
Man and Woman of the Year honors two individuals who have contributed significant time, energy and spirit in fields outside his or her professional life, without regard to personal gain; who’s recent contributions to the community have made a significant, positive impact on the quality of life for all residents; who have demonstrated excellence in leadership; and who are a source of positive influence and inspiration for others.

The Founders Award, established in 1985, is a lifetime achievement recognition honoring an individual who has demonstrated significant long-term community involvement and accomplishments; who has helped to shape the community in a positive manner with merit and dedication; who’s leadership has made a significant difference to individuals or groups; and who has displayed wisdom and depth of service. This award is for lifetime achievement rather than a single contribution.

The GTL Alumni Excellence Award honors someone who represents the highest ideals of service and loyalty to the community, and is actively utilizing the leadership skills learned during their time in the GTL program.

These four recipients are being honored for outstanding leadership, distinguished contributions and dedication to improving the quality of life in our community.
Mark Irvin, Managing Member of Mark Irvin Commercial Real Estate Services LLC, has been selected as the 2019 Man of the Year.
Barbi Reuter, President of Cushman & Wakefield I PICOR, has been selected as the 2019 Woman of the Year.
Ron Shoopman, former President of Southern Arizona Leadership Council and member of the Arizona Board of Regents, is the recipient of the 2019 Founders Award.

Kate Hoffman, Founder and CEO of Earn to Learn, is the recipient of the 2019 GTL Alumni Excellence Award.
A 10-person selection committee — comprised of community leaders representing business, government, non-profit, and higher education — made the awards selections.
For more information on the Feb. 1, 2020 gala at Loews Ventana Canyon, visit  Sponsorship and tribute opportunities are also available. For information visit the GTL website or contact GTL Community Relations Director Carrie Durham at or call 520.792.2250 x140.